I Remember

There are things in life you just can’t forget. Those things you will always remember and they make you who you are. A lot of things you forget, like the first time you talked, an extremely ordinary day at school and even the moment you were born you can’t remember.

Many neuroscientists argue that infants can’t lay down long-term memories because their brains aren’t fully developed.
As infants, we can certainly make some types of memories. In fact, two of our brain systems necessary for memory-making – the hippocampus and the medial temporal lobe – are pretty well-developed by the time we’re a year old. However, the prefrontal cortex doesn’t completely mature until our early twenties. Neuroscientists believe this region of the brain helps us form episodic memories – memories about things that happened to us. Before our prefrontal cortex is at least partially developed, we might be able to recall skills or recognize items, but we won’t be able commit full scenes to memory.

Now we have an idea why we can’t remember parts of our childhood, but why are there moments in our life we won’t ever forget? They can be the most simple thing, for instance I still remember the first volleyball practise I ever got from my coach (I was seven years old). Why would my brain remember one such thing?
I think the answer is that the moments you remember are the moments that made you who you are, and those moments had a huge impact to your life. The moment I met my coach and got my first practise from him, I knew volleyball was my sport. Now, almost 10 years later, I still play volleyball. It made me who I am now.

“We should all start to live before we get old. Fear is stupid. So are regrets.” – Tim G.

Do you think those moments made you who you are?

About Susan Tim Chase

Volleyball, Drawing, Taekwon-Do, Friends :) Never stop dreaming, we are infinite.
This entry was posted in Philosophic Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

